A Delayed New Years Post

New Years is many things to many people. To most, I would say it’s probably just the best night of the year to get drunk and have dranks with all your friends. To other people with a passion for the deep metaphysical life, it’s a chance to start anew and make a host of promises that they hope to keep to make life better but that will probably fail after two and a half weeks (looking at you, gym resolution-ers). Personally, I spent mine at home with my cat and some of the saddest episodes of Glee (you know, the one where they sing The Scientist and everyone breaks up and you go to bed crying because WHY IS LIFE SO SAD) and spewing emotions at people back home. I’m sure your New Years celebrations would have been at least doubly fantastic.

Because I tend to be somewhere in the middle of the metaphysical and drunkard lives, I’ve decided to collect a list of the old and the new: Top Ten Most Memorable Moments of 2012, and Top Ten Things to get ABSOLUTELY PUMPED FOR in 2013. Lemme know if y’all have any personal commitments you’re aiming to fulfill this year, or huge crushing regrets (or celebrations) from 2012!

Top Ten Most Memorable Moments of 2012

Number Ten: Prom

My first Prom Date Ditcher,  but we were friends again by the actual date.

My first Prom Date Ditcher, but we were friends again by the actual date.

This one is more of a ‘let’s block this out of my mind for the rest of my life’ because I got ditched by two dates, but hey, that just makes it all the more memorable.

Number 9: Graduation

At least I won the most honorable award that was actually worth ZERO DOLLARS. (thanks Governor General, but clearly you don’t understand student problems).

Number 8: New Years

Welcoming in New Years with Shaquilla Lynch at Nathan Phillips Square (on my first visit to Glendon) was an awesome experience. Getting chased by a guy looking for smokes at three in the morning, however, was much more sketchy.

Number 7: Jamaica Trip

The Gran Bahia Principe in Ochos Rios. Beauty.

The Gran Bahia Principe in Ochos Rios. Beauty.

For my first trip down South, this was definitely a good one! While we went during hurricane season, there was no bad weather AND we got upgraded to VIPs. 

Number 6: Coldplay in Montreal

OMGOMGOMGOMG IT LIGHTS UP!!!!!!!!!!!!

OMGOMGOMGOMG IT LIGHTS UP!!!!!!!!!!!!

Seeing Coldplay was one of those life experiences I’ll never forget. Buying tickets from a recently crushed fiancee whose partner ran away and left her with two perfect tickets to her favorite band was a slight downer, but the concert made up for everything.

Number 5) Glendon Acceptance

Getting my YU Card was like a milestone. Even if the picture looks like I'm high as a kite.

Getting my YU Card was like a milestone. Even if the picture looks like I’m high as a kite.

Getting my acceptance letter to Glendon (technically, December 2011, but I think it really applies to 2012) is also something that changed my life. I came down to pick my courses in May.

Number 4) Frosh Week

Following along with the above, Frosh Week is another one of Glendon Milestones. I have a full post here, but in the meantime….

BLACK TEAM BLACK TEAM YAH YAH YAH!

Number 3: Getting a Job at Starbucks (Technically)

I’m putting this as a 2012 thing because I got the job in December, even if I don’t start until later. I guess driving four hours from Ottawa to get to the interview really helps your chances.

Number 2: New Friends

Meeting so many new and unique people has been awesome. Like Francette, Corisa, and Gen here <3

Meeting so many new and unique people has been awesome. Like Francette, Corisa, and Gen here ❤

Meeting a bunch of my best friends ever, from Francette to Mikhaela to Sat to Kafela to Corisa to Brianna to to all the rest that I can’t fit in a blog post without somebody getting upset. Seriously, all the people at Glendon make my life.

Number 1: Dominican Republic Experience Trip

My Dominican Team this year - I MISS YOU ALL!!!!

My Dominican Team this year – I MISS YOU ALL!!!!

I had a really unique chance to go to Dominican Republic on a missions trip of sorts, to experience what it’s like to live and work in a developing country. As a team, fifty students in my high school board got to work in sugar cane fields, in urban and country slums, and in orphanages. It’s one of the things that’s made me want to go into International Studies as a career past Glendon.

Top Ten Things to get ABSOLUTELY PUMPED FOR in 2013

Number 10: Studying Hard for School.

Okay, so this may not be exciting, but this is crucial and it’s got to be something I get myself pumped about this year. Time to get on top of things!

Number 9: FRENCH DRESSING

This is actually such a big deal.

This is actually such a big deal.

HOLY GOOD LORD, FRENCH DRESSING IN THE CAFE!!! PRAISE BABY JESUS. THIS IS LIKE THE BIGGEST THING TO HAPPEN TO SALAD HERE EVER, AND I LURVVV MA SALAD.

Number 8: Hitting The Gym

After writing a post on male body image, it might come off as hypocritical to be enthusiastic about going to the gym. However, I’m always excited to go and try to improve myself and my health.

Number 7: The Rest of Glee, Season 4

What is gonna happen? I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE 25TH!!!!

What is gonna happen? I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE 25TH!!!!

Finishing Season Four of Glee is something that a solid amount of us ambassadors are enthused about. Just so y’all know, it’s pretty much one of the top shows at Glendon so you might want to get caught up now. But I mean, WHO IS THIS BOY KURT IS GOING TO MEET? WHAT IS RACHEL GOING TO DO?!? I”VE NEVER BEEN THIS PASSIONATE ABOUT TELEVISION!!!!    ….no offense to those who have me trying to watch Dexter 😛

Number 6: Moving On.

 As simple as maybe, actually, please moving on from THAT BOY. 

Number 5: Joining the Ambassador Team!

Our 2013 Glendon Ambassador Team!

Our 2013 Glendon Ambassador Team!

While I’ve been part of the team as a volunteer for the last few months, I’m starting as a full member this semester! Which means you’ll be seeing more of me this next year 🙂

Number 4: Winning First Year Rep with Myron Khan

Nick Chaloux for GCSU!

Nick Chaloux for GCSU!

As you may know I ran for First Year Rep with four other first year students this November, and Myron and I were the two who won! I’m so excited to work with the GCSU at events and other things!

Number 3: Maybe My Own Apartment

IKEA FAMILY FTW

IKEA FAMILY FTW

I would love to have my own apartment… no matter how small it is, I just want to start collecting Ikea furniture for it, and to be able to bake and cook again.

Number 2: Starting Work as a Barista

I'm usually never seen without a cup of Starbucks in hand.. especially if I'm driving.

I’m usually never seen without a cup of Starbucks in hand.. especially if I’m driving.

Because I’m kinda obsessed with Starbucks, I’ve always wanted to work there. Since that dream is coming true, after TWO YEARS OF WANTING TO WORK THERE, it has to be one of the things I’m most excited about.

Number 1: New Years Eve in New York City

Who wouldn't want to be here!!

Who wouldn’t want to be here!!

Since my New Years was so dull this year, I’m promising myself to go to NYC to have the best one ever. Even if I’m only 18!

So that’s what I’m so thrilled about for this year, and what I remember from last year! Feel free to leave some thoughts about your years below!

-N

One thought on “A Delayed New Years Post

Leave a Reply

